You Can Rely Upon
Facts Regarding Texting and Driving in Connecticut
In April 2017, a Connecticut police department carried out their Distracted Driving High-Visibility Enforcement Campaign. As a result, law enforcement issued 209 violations to drivers that broke the state's mobile phone laws.
Officers from the Milford Police Department collaborated with the Connecticut Highway Safety Office. Together, they issued violations to drivers that were ignoring the laws regarding the use of mobile devices while operating a vehicle. First-time violations cost $150, and the fine for third and subsequent offenses is $500. Those who commit a second offense may have to pay $300.
Data from the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration has revealed that distracted driving-related accidents took the lives of nearly 3,500 individuals and left about 391,000 injured. These numbers reflect a 9-percent increase over 2016.
When analyzing data from 2009 to 2013, the AAA Foundation for Traffic Safety found that more than 80 percent of drivers admitted that it was not acceptable to text while driving. However, more than a third of these same individuals acknowledged that they have read text messages while behind the wheel.
People should really think twice before texting and driving. Doing so could help them avoid having to pay fines or causing car accidents that could result in life-threatening injuries to themselves and others. Individuals can set a good example for others by putting away their cell phones when driving. They should also remind friends and family members about the risks associated with distracted driving.
When people sustain catastrophic injuries in accidents caused by distracted drivers, they may not be able to return to work to earn an income in order to provide for themselves and their families. They can also incur huge medical debts. Individuals in this situation may want to speak with experienced lawyers that can show them how to pursue compensation for their losses by filing personal injury claims.